Please Scroll Down to See Forums Below
napsgear
genezapharmateuticals
domestic-supply
puritysourcelabs
Research Chemical SciencesUGFREAKeudomestic
napsgeargenezapharmateuticals domestic-supplypuritysourcelabsResearch Chemical SciencesUGFREAKeudomestic

Should I pay for my gym membership or work out at home? Opinions welcome.

casavant

I've been working out at Gold's Gym for three years now. I worked there for the past year for anywhere from 6- 30 hours a week. The only time I've had to pay was the first few months I was signed up. After that, I got a free membership through a deal that the club I was bouncing at had arranged with the owner. Once I started working at the gym, I didn't have to pay for a membership either, of course. A few weeks ago, because of a scheduling conflict (not a disagreement of any sort), my remaining shift was cut, but I was told that I would be "on call" and that I would get to retain my free membership, which was very generous of them. A few days ago, though, the owner informed me that he was going to start charging me for a membership, although at a discounted rate of $25 a month. No problems there- he has a business to run and $25 isn't that much. I'm thinking though, I already have an olymic bench, barbell, trap bar, curl bar, and 850 pounds of weight at home. I could take the $300 I would spend in a year on the gym and buy a power rack, incline bench, pull-up bar, and some dumbbells, and I would pretty much be set.

Of course, the disadvantage to this would be that I wouldn't have access to all the hammer strength stuff as well as some of the other neat little gym machines, etc. On the other hand, I could get back to the basics with the free weights and change my training up a little and save a monthly payment in the process. What do you guys think?? Thanks.

Only $25 a month and you get to work out whenever you want, no restrictions?