Please Scroll Down to See Forums Below
napsgear
genezapharmateuticals
domestic-supply
puritysourcelabs
Research Chemical SciencesUGFREAKeudomestic
napsgeargenezapharmateuticals domestic-supplypuritysourcelabsResearch Chemical SciencesUGFREAKeudomestic

does your metabolizm get faster the leaner you get

N

nclifter6feet6

the more fat you loose, does that mean the faster your metabolizm is. i mean does it get faster when you loose fat. im not talking about dieting to loose fat but when i do high intesity cardio i loose just fat, so i would think my metabolizm gets higher right?

I'm no expert, but I think it is the other way around. When you raise your metabolizm, then you burn more calories (fat)

But just losing fat does not increase your metabolizm. I know people who have dieted and their metabolizm actually slowed as they lost fat.

If anything, when you have more body mass, your metabolizm is higher since your body has to support more mass.

You should put this up on the diet board. I'm sure that are a lot of experts over there that can comment on it.

More Muscle = Higher Basal Metabolic Rate = Burn more calories doing nothing.

Less Fat = Same Basal Metabolic Rate = No additional calories burned unless the reduced fat came with some additional muscle growth.

-Warik

Wouldn't a static LBM, but less fat acually decrease metabolism? Since there is less mass to heat, pump blood through etc. won't you be burning less calories?

Warik said:
More Muscle = Higher Basal Metabolic Rate = Burn more calories doing nothing.

Less Fat = Same Basal Metabolic Rate = No additional calories burned unless the reduced fat came with some additional muscle growth.

-Warik

I would like to add:

Less Fat + no change in physical activity = Less calories burned unless the reduced fat came with some additional muscle growth.

Bullit:

I don't think so. I doubt someone could be lean enough to the point where their BMR is so high that there are no more calories to burn.

GNJ: