Please Scroll Down to See Forums Below
napsgear
genezapharmateuticals
domestic-supply
puritysourcelabs
Research Chemical SciencesUGFREAKeudomestic
napsgeargenezapharmateuticals domestic-supplypuritysourcelabsResearch Chemical SciencesUGFREAKeudomestic

stretching before lifting

No stretching. Weakens the muscle. Just warm up your joints. There's a name for it... I forget. Active something something. It's not direct stretching.

Sent from my ONEPLUS A3000 using Tapatalk

No stretching. Weakens the muscle. Just warm up your joints. There's a name for it... I forget. Active something something. It's not direct stretching.

Questionable. I started training back in 1980 and it seems that every other year we've a debate on the whole 'before, during or after?'. It helps if you're a little warm for example. I know that I ought to stretch more as I get very tight and restricted in the hips and upper thighs which can hold me back.

I used to buy into that whole "stretching weakens muscles" crap... but that's what I mostly believe it is now.. crap. Ever watch Dmitri Klokov warm up before snatching 200kg overhead? He does a bunch of static and dynamic stretches. Once I got into my 30's, especially when I am routinely squatting 3-400+lbs, I stretch my legs and lower back before every squat day. It has helped improve my flexibility and mobility immensely, and actually helped my strength and squat depth. I always do dynamic stretching with the ROM for whatever exercise I start with, but I also incorporate static stretching now as well. May not work for everyone, but I definitely don't believe it automatically hurts your strength. Try it for yourself and see.