Please Scroll Down to See Forums Below
napsgear
genezapharmateuticals
domestic-supply
puritysourcelabs
Research Chemical SciencesUGFREAKeudomestic
napsgeargenezapharmateuticals domestic-supplypuritysourcelabsResearch Chemical SciencesUGFREAKeudomestic

Seeking advice/insight/help

dixontj

I am new to this world, i.e., the Elite Fitness forum and all that it represents. Although doing research for the past 6 weeks, it is clear I still don’t know what I don’t know, thus the reason I am reaching out. Probably best to give a little background on my situation and myself first though. I will try to keep it brief so as not to bore you…

I am 53 years old. I have a sedentary job environment, but try to stay active with exercise, weekend sports, golf, etc. I am clearly not a body builder, but I have always been able to build muscle mass easily and my wife has always said I have a “nice butt.” I am a hair under 6’-2” and my “feel good” weight is 215 lbs. I know that still rates obese on the physician’s chart, but does not look obese on my frame. OK, now the problems…

At age 35 I started having trouble with my left knee locking up. An orthopedic surgeon suggested arthroscopic surgery to clean out the knee. When I woke up from the surgery the doctor greeted me with the statement “You may never walk again.” He then related that when he went in to do the surgery the cartilage simply “blew away” and fell from the bone. His prognosis was that I either inherited this condition through bad genes or potentially my mother took a series of antibiotics while pregnant that resulted in deterioration of bone structure in her offspring (me!). In short, the doctor said I had knees of a 70 year old and ordered me to stay on crutches for two months after the surgery. He also said that I would absolutely need a knee replacement (or two) in my lifetime but with then current technology, I couldn’t consider that until I was 55 so I would have to make my knees last 20 years.