Please Scroll Down to See Forums Below
napsgear
genezapharmateuticals
domestic-supply
puritysourcelabs
Research Chemical SciencesUGFREAKeudomestic
napsgeargenezapharmateuticals domestic-supplypuritysourcelabsResearch Chemical SciencesUGFREAKeudomestic

Labrum Tear anyone?

Mike145

I tore the posterior labrum in my right shoulder about a year and a half ago. Fortunately the MRI said it was not a SLAP (whaterver that means). The first opinion I got reccomended surgery, the second opinion wanted to try extensive physical therapy first that would hopefully prove surgery unneccessary. I have been doing the therapy for about two months now and there has been some improvement in range of motion, strength, and pain. However, my progress has not been what I anticipated since I am still not able to perform any upper body exercises that use the shoulder. I think surgery is inevitable which really sucks because post-op recovery takes almost a year. Does anyone have any experience with this sort of injury that could advise me? Thanks.

Mike, I just had surgery for a torn labrum 2 weeks ago today. Had a well known orthopedist work on mine. He also cleaned up a couple of bone spurs and just a touch of bursitis. They used arthroscopy and used a kevlar band mounted to an anchor in the bone to replace the torn part. My doc told me 6 weeks before I could begin with any type of heavier weight to allow time for the bone to grow over the anchor. After that, he told me it would be better than new. Yours may be worse than mine but he never even recommended therapy and said surgery would be my only recourse to fix it. I already have about 80% of my flexibility back and am going to physical therapy now which makes it very sore for the couple of days after. I knew I would never be able to put up the big weight without getting it fixed so if you have a great doc, I would say go for it. Feel free to ask if you have any specific questions.

eaglesnest said: