Please Scroll Down to See Forums Below
napsgear
genezapharmateuticals
domestic-supply
puritysourcelabs
Research Chemical SciencesUGFREAKeudomestic
napsgeargenezapharmateuticals domestic-supplypuritysourcelabsResearch Chemical SciencesUGFREAKeudomestic

I just had distal clavicle resection surgery (AC joint excision) on Monday May 7, 2007

Doomsday

First off, I just want to introduce myself. I'm new to posting here and look forward to learning alot from you guys and girls.

I'm 27 years old. I'm 6' 245 wth alot of body fat. I am a former amateur boxer (not that great, record was 2-2). On May 7, 2007 I had a distal clavicle resection on my right shoulder where my doc removed 12 mm of my AC joint. I also had arthroscopic exploratory surgery on that shoulder where, in addition to doing the distal clavicle resection, they removed a bone spur near the acromion and scar tissue near the AC joint. I had no arthritis of the AC joint but my doc felt it was necessary to do the distal clavicle resection so if scar tissue were to reform or a bone spur were to develop it wouldn't aggravate the AC joint. So that's why he did the procedure.

One week later my doc removed my steristrips and took a post op xray and said the xray looked good. He said the xray looked good because the resection was straight, there was no bone left behind, and he was happy with the amount of resection. He had me start PT last week where they work on my range of motion. He said it will take 3 months after surgery (2 months from now) before I can return to weightlifting and boxing training. He said in that 3 months (2 months from now) scar tissue will form where the excised portion of the AC joint once was, the raw bone where he cut the clavicle will be healed, and the post surgery inflammation will be gone in that time.