Please Scroll Down to See Forums Below
napsgear
genezapharmateuticals
domestic-supply
puritysourcelabs
Research Chemical SciencesUGFREAKeudomestic
napsgeargenezapharmateuticals domestic-supplypuritysourcelabsResearch Chemical SciencesUGFREAKeudomestic

Compound Lifts for Runners on Gear

st8grad

Before I get crushed on this next thread, I know....I know....I know...I am an idiot for running that much, who would want to look like a skinny marathon dweeb. To level it out, I get the same shit in reverse from runners - why would you want to lift heavy and add bulk? Weights don't do anything for runners.

Ok I run 30 miles per week - 5 days per week and probably will peak at 40 miles per week over 5 days a week. I am training for a half marathon in June and the MCM full Marathon in October. So giving up running ain't an option. Neither is cutting miles back at this point. I alternate between 3 day lifting splits, 4 day splits, and the 5 day max-ot style. I've been lifting for 10 years and running for 6 months.

I started running back in September and ever since have dropped lifting legs altogether. I admit that I have always been pretty lax on legs anyway. I do like the major lifts however - squats and deads.

How can incorporate those and a balanced leg routine back into my running regimine without killing myself with DOMS? If I do full ass to the floor squats right now, I can expect to be sore as shit for 5 days. I can run through a little soreness, but the kind that makes you feel like you have the flu cannot be back into my routine. My upper body is used to training, so typical sorness isn't ever much of an issue.

I mean is it as simple as adding in 1 set of 10 squats at something embarrasing like 135 pounds in week one the answer? Just working up from there...2 sets of 10 the next week, 3 the next and then bump up the weight and start the cycle all over again?