Please Scroll Down to See Forums Below
napsgear
genezapharmateuticals
domestic-supply
puritysourcelabs
Research Chemical SciencesUGFREAKeudomestic
napsgeargenezapharmateuticals domestic-supplypuritysourcelabsResearch Chemical SciencesUGFREAKeudomestic

For any baseball players on the board

P

plifter

I just don't have enough pop in my bat. I'm a lot bigger and stronger than a lot of the guys I play against. I just can't seem to get any power. It feels like I'm using only my arms to swing. How can I get some more leg drive into it. A guy my size should be able to knock some long balls, but I see skinny guys get more power than me. (Yes I know this is the wrong board, but nobody responds on the other ones)

plifter,
I am a baseball coach (high school level). It sounds like you have a problem that a lot of bigger guys have - you rely too much on your upper body in order to hit the ball. Actually, your back knee should start your swing, not the hands. The back knee triggers the swing, then the top hand throws the bat through the ball. You want to use your hips as much as possible. After all, they are the strongest part of the body. Also, make sure you are throwing the bat and not pulling it through the strike zone. You deliver more power that way.

It is hard to explain without being able to actually show you. Let me know if you have any more questions.

What level (high school, college, semi pro, etc.) do you play?

Stones34