Please Scroll Down to See Forums Below
napsgear
genezapharmateuticals
domestic-supply
puritysourcelabs
Research Chemical SciencesUGFREAKeudomestic
napsgeargenezapharmateuticals domestic-supplypuritysourcelabsResearch Chemical SciencesUGFREAKeudomestic

After 7 weeks of training westside style...

kyle

My bench max has gone backwards 20 pounds :(
from 190 to 170

A little about me: I'm 5'10" @ 157. I've been lifting mostly to gain weight (and strength too) for about the last 15 months with a 4 month break during the middle of this time because of my soccer season and school work. When I started lifting my bench max was about 85 lb :FRlol: . Before these 7 weeks traing westside I did a western periodized routine and increased my max about 30 lb. I decided to start WS for bench press only (i do specific speed training and weightlifting for lower body) and use the big bad bench routine from t-mag. i usually switched the face pull and pushdowns for other movements because i dont have the proper equipment at home. i was sick for the 5th and 6th weeks of the routine, but my strength had still increased in the lifts i did during those weeks (check out the jm press :)) and i finished all the workouts. all my lifts have increased, except the bench press itself...

some of the more important lifts:

jm press: 85x5 -> 140x3
floor press: 165 -> 190
tate press: 20x8 -> 30x6
3 board press: 175 -> 185
barbell extension: 70x5 -> 75x5
db extension: 25x4 -> 30x6

i felt good when i maxed after the 7 weeks, but i was weak. i failed about 1/2 inch off my chest when i tried 185 (i was pretty mad so i tried it :mad: ) i was expecting at least 200 :bawling: Anybody have advice on what to do next or why i'm so damn weak in the bench? maybe i justed havent benched enough times to keep that neuromuscular pathway in memory (i forgot how to bp). i might try some of pavel tsatsouline's routines soon to fix this... good idea? keep training ws?

Thanks for any replies

-kyle