Please Scroll Down to See Forums Below
napsgear
genezapharmateuticals
domestic-supply
puritysourcelabs
Research Chemical SciencesUGFREAKeudomestic
napsgeargenezapharmateuticals domestic-supplypuritysourcelabsResearch Chemical SciencesUGFREAKeudomestic

just completed 3 week crazy band cycle

IrishPower

I am pretty new to the bands. I have been training off and on with them for 14 weeks or so, learning some things here and there.

I just finished a 3 week mini-cycle, during which I hit what I consider my best lifts yet.

Let me state that I just learned the way to really get a LOT of band tension. I used a real double wrap. This means that I did NOT loop it through the bottom. We actually folded the bands in half and pulled up both sides onto the bar.

To give you an idea of the tension, with no weight on the bar, it was still bending. And this is a 55lb Texas Squat bar. It is crazy.

Week 1: double purple speed then a 715 free squat (no bands and no wraps)
Week 2: double green speed then a 375/1 (w/bands)
Week 3: double green speed then a 415/1 (w/bands)

I can just say that I felt that by the third week, I had gained a new level of explosiveness. Every week my back felt lit up from holding the bar on my back. It was a great experience.

Here is a video clip from the 3rd week:

http://www.growordie.com/training/videos/real_double_green.wmv

My plans are to do something I have a very hard time doing... taking a week off from squatting then follow up with 3 more workouts before the meet.

Train hard!
/irish

Irish, we also often fold the bands double and then around the bar. We've got a 110lb plate on each side to keep the bands down but when we double the bands the plates actually lift off the floor and hang in mid-air and we need to add another plate on top to keep it anchored to the floor.